Palatinus' OverPower Forum

Rules => Special Cards => Playing Specials => Topic started by: DiceK on March 09, 2013, 07:42:13 PM

Title: Can you negate...
Post by: DiceK on March 09, 2013, 07:42:13 PM
an attack that specifically says, "Cannot be defending with a special card"?
Title: Re: Can you negate...
Post by: chuu on March 09, 2013, 11:16:04 PM
i would like to know the answer to this as well...my take on it is that since a negate is a special card and you're using it to defend an attack it wouldn't be useable...
Title: Re: Can you negate...
Post by: BigBadHarve on March 09, 2013, 11:35:01 PM
No, you cannot. The clause 'may not be defended with specials' includes negates. This falls under Meta rule 58:


Meta #58: Negates are considered a card being played defensively. If a Special indicates that it cannot be defended by a Special card, then a Negate cannot be used to defend the attack (although it may be used afterwards offensively to negate the effect). If a Special card indicates that it can only be defended by a specific type of card, then this excludes all other cards (including negates).

Note that specials already in play (EB specials for example) CAN be used because they aren't being played as a defense, they are already in play.