an issue has come up in the tourneament regrading leech. one side feels if you don't declare, the opponent can declare, like with multipowers. the other side says it doesn't have to be declared until the opponent asks.
anyone have any rules to back up either side?
(http://overpower.ca/cards/specials/25.png)
It was always Leech's choice...
1) you play "leech
2) you declare the target hero who is "attacked" per meta-rule
3) you (player of leech) declare icon
*pretty sure the only think opponent "chooses" in this situationare which cards placed/or in hand to discard :)
Quote from: CoS on July 17, 2011, 01:43:52 AM
1) you play "leech
2) you declare the target hero who is "attacked" per meta-rule
3) you (player of leech) declare icon
*pretty sure the only think opponent "chooses" in this situation are which cards placed/or in hand to discard :)
So the power type has to be declared by the attacker before the opponent commits to letting it hit or blocking Power Leech. That would be very helpful to the person being attacked. I always thought it was declared after it landed.
Quote from: Nate Grey on July 17, 2011, 02:21:52 AM
Quote from: CoS on July 17, 2011, 01:43:52 AM
1) you play "leech
2) you declare the target hero who is "attacked" per meta-rule
3) you (player of leech) declare icon
*pretty sure the only think opponent "chooses" in this situation are which cards placed/or in hand to discard :)
So the power type has to be declared by the attacker before the opponent commits to letting it hit or blocking Power Leech. That would be very helpful to the person being attacked. I always thought it was declared after it landed.
i've always asked before deciding to block. it's part of the attack and i need to know what i'm defending (except the face-down attacks). i've never had any arguments :)
I was under the impression that the icon was declared upon a successful attack, but that could have changed since I last checked in, like many many many other things in this game. :D
Correct, the player decides which power type before the opponent plays any defensive action.
If the power type is declared. Can Leech be blocked with a type specific avoid in that case?
Quote from: Oscorp on July 18, 2011, 10:20:45 PM
If the power type is declared. Can Leech be blocked with a type specific avoid in that case?
i wish! but, no :-\
Nope, it's not a attack that has a type and it doesn't gain an icon. Leech can only be avoided (either teammate avoid or regular avoid or using a defensive restrictive attack card like CD) or negated.
OR shifted to a Stars and Garters type already on the field, apparently.
Quote from: Demacus on July 19, 2011, 04:52:21 PM
OR shifted to a Stars and Garters type already on the field, apparently.
To defend it? I don't think that's right... Leech still landed on its new target, the "Shield" Special... seems like it would still force the discard. I mean, Stars and Garters has to take a hit in order to function, right?
Quote from: ncannelora on July 19, 2011, 06:04:21 PM
Quote from: Demacus on July 19, 2011, 04:52:21 PM
OR shifted to a Stars and Garters type already on the field, apparently.
To defend it? I don't think that's right... Leech still landed on its new target, the "Shield" Special... seems like it would still force the discard. I mean, Stars and Garters has to take a hit in order to function, right?
Correct, shifting it to EB cards will not remove the effects of Leech because it affects the opponent. If you were to shift a Penance Stare to an EB, the effects won't take place because the EB card is now the target (and is discarded).
Quote from: Jack on July 19, 2011, 07:02:57 PM
Quote from: ncannelora on July 19, 2011, 06:04:21 PM
Quote from: Demacus on July 19, 2011, 04:52:21 PM
OR shifted to a Stars and Garters type already on the field, apparently.
To defend it? I don't think that's right... Leech still landed on its new target, the "Shield" Special... seems like it would still force the discard. I mean, Stars and Garters has to take a hit in order to function, right?
Correct, shifting it to EB cards will not remove the effects of Leech because it affects the opponent. If you were to shift a Penance Stare to an EB, the effects won't take place because the EB card is now the target (and is discarded).
I thought you can't shift an attack if it causes the card to have no effect...
Well, the EB card won't be able to attack for the remainder of battle, so there's still an effect... I think.
You can't shift an AI (target) card to EB.
Thanks for bringing up this topic. I feel better knowing the attacker has to declare the power type before the opponent decides whether to defend. I've been playing against lots of Any Hero decks lately. :-\
If the opponent forgets to declare, can you declare the icon for him?
Quote from: drdeath25 on July 20, 2011, 11:13:25 AM
If the opponent forgets to declare, can you declare the icon for him?
Nope, Leech always declares. The card even says it.
Quote from: Jack on July 18, 2011, 10:59:43 PM
Nope, it's not a attack that has a type and it doesn't gain an icon. Leech can only be avoided (either teammate avoid or regular avoid or using a defensive restrictive attack card like CD) or negated.
but wait
what if p l chooses strength
(http://overpower.ca/cards/specials/1328.png)
can i still stop it with that?(im sure somebody wouldve asked eventually)
Regardless of the icon chosen, why doesn't a CD stop Leech?
Why doesn't it?...
Maybe I just read those last few posts wrong:)